Issues with EX10 switch....

batmanacw

Enlightened
....and now I like it better than before.

My EX10 switch quit working today. I thought about cussing it, but I remembered that one side of the ring seemed to always be a little higher than the other side.

I tried turning the ring slightly and got it to work for a short time again, but it just wouldn't stay running right.

Once I got home I started playing with it, figuring that I would clean out the switch ring as well as possible. I realized that the ring had been split for a reason. If the switch ring was not supposed to come out without taking the head apart, they would have made it solid.

I gently pried up on it with a screw driver and the ring gradually came up and out. There was some garbage under the ring. I cleaned the ring really well inside and out. Cleaned the contact on the board, and used the tip of a rag to clean the outside walls of the light. Then I used deoxit on everything before putting it back together.

This is the reason that I like the light even better than I did before. Not many switches that are user serviceable. In fact, I don't remember any lights I own that could be so easily fixed. That kicks butt!:D

Some day my lights might be called upon to run for a long period of time when I can't merely send it back to the manufacturer. Being able to make it work under those conditions is very desirable. I am actually glad it happened.

batmanacw

Enlightened
I had a relapse with the problem, but I got it whipped now. The switch does not sit totally flat since it has a spring pushing up on it.

I lubed the outside of the ring very lightly with Superlube that was recommended on this site for the threads and orings.

The ring moves much easier now and has been nearly flawless ever since. The piston switch feels smoother as well. I might consider lubing the ring on my D10 as well, although it has never missed a beat.