home made reflector

tc2468

Newly Enlightened
I'm pretty new at modding lights. I've scrounged some parts for modding flashlights and decided to mod my little 1 aa, 9 led light that Ive had for years. I have a small lathe and decided to build a small 20mm cone reflector and use a DX7880 and a XRE-Q5 (thanks Gunga)

here's the issue my cone reflector the hot spot projects the square image of the led. Its not perfectly focused but you can see 2 darker strips and the notches in the square. I thought the reflector being round would make the hot spot round.

any thoughts about how to make the hot spot round?

tc2468

Newly Enlightened
Interesting. Are you sure its the reflector or did you add some kind of PCX lens in front of the LED?

I havent made a lense to fit on the reflector yet, so its open.
The cone isn't a true 100% cone either because I finger polished it on the lathe with sand papers and car wax, but I'm guessing not much material lost through that process.
Is there such a thing as an aspherical reflector? :whistle:

bshanahan14rulz

Flashlight Enthusiast
what curve did you use? I don't have a lathe, but it sure would be neat to make my own reflector! and you just polished the alu?

tc2468

Newly Enlightened
what curve did you use? I don't have a lathe, but it sure would be neat to make my own reflector! and you just polished the alu?

20 degrees on the compound slide, no real curve except when polishing with my finger.

cant really see the led projection in the pics but theyre more distinct in real life.

DSCN4092.JPG

DSCN4093.JPG

DSCN4102.JPG

LightSward

Flashlight Enthusiast