Mag Lite 2D conversion to x2 18650

Purrkieset

Newly Enlightened
Like the title says, I have a Mag Lite 2D and would like to convert it to use x2 18650's instead.

I know Gene used to sell them but I don't see them anymore.

Does anyone else make or have them for sale?

Or if anyone has the proper dimensions of the tubing I need, I could go to Lowes or Home Depot. I'm not that good with modding stuff though.

Do I need a special spring and board too or do I use the default spring that came with the Mag Lite 2D?

With the conversion do the 18650's rattle around?

thanks

WHT_GE8

Enlightened
I was interested in the same thing and was told to use some pvc pipe which is the easy part. The hard part is having the mod the spring, you have to cut it and bend it and what not. Im going to opt for the easy way out and get a 6AA carrier to fit in the Mag 2D.

Mjolnir

Flashlight Enthusiast
For the inner tubing, 3/4 inch PVC piping works perfectly with 18650s. However, the outer diameter of the 3/4 inch PVC is somewhat smaller than the inner diameter of the maglite, so it will rattle around if you do not have something wider around it.
The best option is to use the PVC coupling that is made for 3/4 inch PVC (couplings are used to connect two PVC pipes together). It is almost the exact diameter to fit inside the body of a D size maglite. If you go to Lowes or home depot, they will probably have lengths of PVC pipe that have couplings built into one of the ends of the pipe (i.e. one end has a wider section that tapers down to the normal pipe width- this section should be a few inches long). What you can do is cut off some pipe from that end, then cut off most of the integrated coupling from that. You can then simply take that piece of coupling and put it around the section of tube that you cut off.