Quark AA^2 vs Fenix LD20+

man scout

Newly Enlightened
I am looking for an upgrade for the Mini Maglight I have been using for ~15 years. I use it for work and on Boy Scout camping trips. I am looking for a flashlight that will fit in a Boy Scout leather belt clip that hold my Leatherman and has a sleeve sized for a Mini Maglight. I would appreciate any thoughts on the relative merits between the Quark AA^2 and the Fenix LD20+ as well as the prospects for one of these fitting in my belt clip.

ninjaboigt

Enlightened
:welcome: welcome!

i dont have a LD20+ but i do have a quark AA^2 tactical neutral white.

i choose the quark series because it has alot more knurling for grip. and a better pocket clip.

the quark has a moon mode which is pretty low, but plenty bright for night adapted eyes. so i might say that would be a plus for you.

and when comparing the lumens, quark uses Out The Front ( OTF ) lumens. which means the light is measured after it hits the window and reflector.

Fenix uses Bulb lumens which is measured at the LED it self.

( the quark is using a more updated LED compared to the fenix )

also quark has the neutral tint series which has better colors when out doors. the only ones left at 4seven.com are tactical verions of 123^2 or the single 123 cliped and clipless but no 2AA. so you'd have to buy a single 123 model and take off the body and buy a 2AA body seperately and you'd have a quark AA^2 neutral white tactical light.

hope that helps. also if u purchase from 4sevens.com dont forget to use CPF8 as the coupon code when checking out to get 8% off!

vizlor

Newly Enlightened
Both are excellent flashlights. If I'd choose one, it'd be the quark because of the accessories.

vali

Enlightened
A couple of days ago I did some sort of "comparison" between them in another thread. Since cross-posting is not allowed I'll copy & paste it here: