Inexpensive Gell Cell battery charger.

X-CalBR8

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi all. I thought I would start this thread to see if anyone knows of an inexpensive, but good quality, regulated gell cell charger that would be good at charging say a 12v 7ah gell cell without frying it. I'm kind of new to gell cells (haven't played around with them in years) and I don't want to get a charger that will fry the new one that I'm thinking about purchasing.

It seems to me that a 12v gell cell would be an ideal power option for a MR16 headlamp. Not too overly heavy but a lot of power per pound/square inch and since it's sealed, you don't have to worry about getting it wet or spilling anything out of it. Just seems like a great power source to experiment with.

Also, are there any good web sites on the proper care and charging of gell cells out there? Are gell cells charged the same as lead acid batteries or differently? Will a lead acid charger work well with a gell cell? I kind of want to generally learn more about their characteristics as well as find the best charger for the money.

Thanks for any info/advice. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

snuffy

Enlightened
I've been using a couple of the A & A Engineering 1 amp kits for about 10 years to charge 2 amp to 17 amp gel cells. They have taken very good care of all my gel cell batteries in that time. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/thumbsup.gif
Don't know if you want to pay this much or build a very easy kit. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon3.gif

X-CalBR8

Flashlight Enthusiast
snuffy: Thanks for the link. I'm checking it out now.

Anyone else out there playing around with Gell Cells? The more advice and suggestions, the merrier. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

X-CalBR8

Flashlight Enthusiast