Disaster Flashlight

dworker

Newly Enlightened
Hello everyone.

I've been telling myself to buy a flashlight for the last six months or so, but have never been able to find one that "feels right", so to speak.

I'm a volunteer who does a lot of disaster assessment. This that I, and by correlation, my flashlight, needs to be able to go in all sorts of environments, and perform multiple functions. I need it to give me enough visibility that I can go inside a burned out house and see where I'm walking, so I don't step through the floor. I also need it to be able to last for a long time while I'm doing paperwork at three in the morning, or inside a shelter doing night rounds.

While it doesn't need to be safe for explosive environments - we're cleared by the Fire Department to go into a building - it certainly wouldn't hurt, because you never really know.

I'm not even sure if I want a headlamp or a hand held light. On the one hand,a headlamp seems to work better for the paperwork section - after all, having two hands free for doing paperwork is a very handy thing indeed. On the other hand, sometimes I wonder if the flexibility of a hand held lamp isn't more important when I do disaster assessment. They generally happen once after the other.

In short, I have pretty much no idea what the hell I'm doing, and looking at all these flashlights has just made my brain melt. The lumens and the bezels and the lenses and the intrinsically safe lights and the headlights and the candle count and the throw and the beam size and the oh god I'm so confused. :(

Edit:

A few more things that, in retrospect, I should have added.

Helmet mounting is probably not an option. In my unit, we're not assigned helmets - we just grab them off of the truck, fit them to our heads, and go. So, a drill mounted flashlight wouldn't be an option, like a lot of firefighters have.