Nitecore EX10 or EX10 R2?

GrimCreaper

Newly Enlightened
Trying to decide which one i want and am curious about the color tints. im finding it hard to come by good comparison shots between the two (concerning similar backgrounds so i can easily see the differences.)

Anyone who has both care to describe them? Or, maybe even post a quick beamshot comparison?

i know that the R2 is supposed to be a lot cooler in general, but im wondering if its worth paying an extra 8$ for the (slightly?) warmer color standard EX10 model and lose the 15 lumens?

also, one last thing, anyone know if you can request a warmer tint from 4sevens or would this be pointless for the LEDs they use in general? Sorry if this seems a bit retarded, but I am still a newb when it comes to most of this stuff.

Moonshadow

Enlightened
Many threads on this if you do a search:

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/248379

The problem on the Nitecores is that with the Q5, you get a specific tint (WC), which is a pure crisp white, but if you look at the advertised specs for the R2 version you'll see that the tint isn't specified - so it's a bit of a lottery: you might get a cooler one, but you might also get a yellower one :sick2:

Tints are a very subjective thing, and it would be nice to be know exactly what you were getting - but I don't think the suppliers would be too keen on you asking them to go through a whole batch to pick out a tint you like !

Gunner12

Flashaholic
R2 and Q5 are both flux bins of the Cree Xlamp series, you can get a Q5 bin Cree that is cooler then a R2 flux bin. Since they don't specify the tint bin, you could get a cooler LED, or a warmer LED.

I'm not sure if 4sevens would have the time to look for the right tint if every one asked him and his team to find the perfect tint for the light being sold.

tbenedict

Enlightened
I just got a R2 (yesterday) from the sale that is a nice white.