how to mod a 3c streamlight for more power

safeway

Newly Enlightened
I have a stream light 3c twin task and would like to juice it up, is worth changing the battery config from three c's and mod it to two packs of four aaa's and make it 12 volts then find a bulb that will handle the volts enough to make a significant differance. I know somebody is going to read this and think im a idiot - i am new to this and yes i can go buy a new light that blows this out of the water but i would really like to mod this thing and make it my own. I am in pest control and use my lights all day long and have been obsessing over converting this into a super light. any help would be appreciated....thanks mike

Gunner12

Flashaholic
The AAA batteries won't be able to handle the current of a high output bulb and the LEDs won't take the higher voltage.

I'm not sure how much the switch can handle, but the easiest thing might be to use 3 C sized li-ion batteries, rewire the LEDs to 3s2p, and get a suitable bulb.

I'd suggest getting a light for now so you still have a good light if you mess up the twin task.

:welcome:

gallonoffuel

Enlightened
How does the mode switching of the twin task work? Is it in the switch or in the bulb/led module? It might be worth looking into that, and then seeing what type of replacement bulb assembly you would go with. You could run an LED on 3Cs, or go for something like 2x18650s with a spacer and a sleeve, or 3x18500s with a sleeve, or 3 C-cell LiIons. The path forward probably depends on heavily on if you want to keep the incan bulb, how the switching works, and how much money you'd like to invest. I've never seen a twin-task up close so I have no personal experience with them.

safeway

Newly Enlightened