I searc a headlight/flashlight combinaison for use in fire and search and rescue ops.

Special-K

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I am new on this forum.
I've already found precious information here but I registerd to ask a question.
I search one or several lights for search and rescue and for use in disaster situations.
As a flashlight newbie I've drowned myself in the ocean of existing flashlights (Incandecent, LED, HID...) so I desesperately need some advice.

I search a couple of lights for use in fires and other "difficult situations" that a firefighter can encounter.
I live in northern Europe (France) but I can also buy lights on internet.
I have a 500-600$ budget for both a headlight and a flashlight.
The width ength of the flashlight dosen't matters for me.
For the flashlight more lumens the better, I need something with a beam who can break through thick smoke with throw/flood ratio far more favorable to throw but with a little spill.

Throw(distance)----X-----------------|-----------------------Flood/close-up

The durability is Very important I need somthing who can survive fire, rain and rough handling.

A long rintime is needed for the headlight but this is less important for the flashlight (a lot of lumens needed here).
Both lights must be waterproof.
If possible of the clickie type.

To be short I need the most usefull headlight/flashlight combo for firefighting and search and rescue.

Thanks John.

PS: Please excuse my very rusty english...
P.S 2: I may also need a small ATEX flashlight.

Last edited:

PhantomPhoton

Flashlight Enthusiast
For headlamps with long runtimes look into Zebralight. The only issue here is that zebralights are 100% flood and no throw.

For a primary very bright light with maximum throw consider an HID. However I do not have a specific HID to recommend because in this case you need durability and reliability. Perhaps another member can give you a more specific recommendation.