police officer needs help

jvasilj87

Newly Enlightened
hello all... i am new to this forum and am looking for some help, i am a police officer looking for a small high powered light for carry. i dont have a lot of money to spend and was told fenix is a good brand to go with...can anyone give me some insight into what they think a great powerful compact flashlight is and what their opinion is on the fenix ta21

chef4850

Enlightened
I own several fenix's and they are great lights. A few questions would help narrow it down.

#1 - Are you planning on using primaries or rechargeable batteries
#2 - what size of light are you looking for

My first fenix was a tk10 and is still in use. Very easy to use and bright. The ta21 has a selector ring (I believe). I have a ta30 light and it has a selector ring but the ring is quite hard to turn. If you are planning on using rechargables the tk11 is a great light. Just a little more info on what you are looking for SIZE - BATT. TYPE - BRIGHTNESS - HOW LOW DO YOU NEED TO GO, etc.

Chef

Roger Sully

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a friend in a local PD here in NJ that I recommended a T100C2MKii to about a month ago. As of last night there were now 9 of them using it...not the same one, they each got their own...
Nice solid light with the lower setting that can be used inside without flashbulbing yourself and a high setting that out-throws the big ol' department issued streamlights.

Alberta-Blue

Newly Enlightened
This question is really going to depend on what you are willing to spend and what your looking for... but here are a few pointers.

From a professional perspective, I would suggest you stay with the K.I.S.S. standard. Most flashlight UI's dont do a very good job of making all of the cool little gimicks accessable under extreme stress. Double tapping, bezel twisting, and different clicky combos dont work when you need to get your chunk out and paired with your light:xyxgun:.