best carry light for police officer

jvasilj87

Newly Enlightened
hey all im new to this and wanted some expert opinion...looking for a powerful light under 100 u.s. dollars and high and low modes also a strobe function...what is everyones opinion for this...thanks

turan8

Newly Enlightened
My advice, I'm in a police academy right now and i'm also a flashaholic, is to get a Eagletac T100C2 with the protruding tail switch.

I've tried it with our night fire course and it's simplicity in use can't be touched. My firearms instructor is a former FBI swat instructor and he taught us both the Harris technique and the syringe technique using a Surefire z2. I personally prefer the syringe technique and modified my t100c2 with a surefire combat ring placed infront of the t100c2's cigar style ring to increase the purchase my fingers get on the surefire ring. Then I activate the tailswitch with the palm of my hand.

I've discussed the strobe option with lots of people and while it's disorienting, it not significantly more effective then pulsing with a momentary switch and every strobe feature I've encountered is difficult to activate under stress. So ditch the strobe.

Also the t100c2 lasts 2 hours with no dimming of output when using 18650 li ion cells. Pretty awesome....

ionizedsky

Enlightened
My advice, I'm in a police academy right now and i'm also a flashaholic, is to get a Eagletac T100C2 with the protruding tail switch.

I've tried it with our night fire course and it's simplicity in use can't be touched. My firearms instructor is a former FBI swat instructor and he taught us both the Harris technique and the syringe technique using a Surefire z2. I personally prefer the syringe technique and modified my t100c2 with a surefire combat ring placed infront of the t100c2's cigar style ring to increase the purchase my fingers get on the surefire ring. Then I activate the tailswitch with the palm of my hand.