looking for new duty light

secureone

Newly Enlightened
Ok here goes. I'm looking for a new duty light I've had some pretty bad luck with mine getting destroyed. I have $200 burning a hole in my pocket. I had and inova t4 that my partner thought would be good to put a strion battery in and well poof. So I switched to my stinger led which went for a swim in the illinois river. So I'm now in the market for a new duty light. Docking rechargable is preferred but 123's. Will suffice. I'm looking for a stingerish size for belt carry. And before all you fenix addicts go and recommended the tk40 there is no way I'm lugging around 8 AA batts rechargeable or not its just not practical. So flagsholic land what say you.

LightCannon

Enlightened
You might want to give that new 5.11 Light for Life a look. Charges in 90 seconds, 90 lumens max output for about an hour, then winds down to lower outputs over the course of the second hour, so you're not left in the dark.

I have no experience with duty lights, however, so I'm not entirely sure what makes a "good" duty light. I'm basically just regurgitating info I've gotten through lurking these forums.

The MSRP is about $170.

bondr006

Flashlight Enthusiast
I know of several LEO's and Military that like the JETBeam JET-lll M, which would be my suggestion. Only $84.00 before CPF discount. Easy to use 2 level interface that allows the light to come on in preferred level. One level is user definable. It takes cr123a primaries, rechargeable rcr123a's, and 18650's(which give 3 hours runtime on high)....and it's tough as nails.

Here is one example of an officer that uses one.

Be sure to check out the CPF Specials page for discount codes. :thumbsup:

Last edited:

Dances with Flashlight

Flashlight Enthusiast
Consider the Peak LEO series. Super quality, and optional configurations that let you tailor the light to your preferences as to size, output, batteries, switches, and even metals.

Roger Sully

Flashlight Enthusiast