Ra Disappointment

klackey

Enlightened
My background is that I have been a user of quality flashlights for a long time…… I started with SureFire lights when they were marked as "Laser Products". I also have lurked around this site on and off for many years (awesome site and information) but had little to say so I never joined until recently.

A few months ago I lost my beloved SureFire L1…… this was the low output original release version. I like this light and it was my most used depended on light. I loved the two light levels and the LED light source for durability. So, after a lot of research on this site ( It will be obvious not enough research on my part) I decided on the replacement HDS Systems: Ra lights, EDC Tactical 120.

When I received the light I was thrilled. The build quality was very good. I love the beam quality and the throw is impressive to me. The low is great and of course the programmability is nice, however I have not felt the need to play with that. The run time is very impressive and I also like the strobe feature. This seemed like a great "to hell and back" kind of light I was looking for. Trouble started when I started using it as my general carry / work light a duty that my old L1 had done flawlessly for many, many years.