Cleaning a.r. coated lenses

harro

Enlightened
Hello everyone. My question might be a no brainer, but being a newbie, I figure its the only way to learn!
Can you safely clean a lense with an a.r. coating applied to it, with any of the many commercial glass cleaners available today?
Do you risk wiping the coating off the glass?
Is there such a thing as a spray on aftermarket coating?
And if so, where would you find it?
Many thanks.

Jay R

Flashlight Enthusiast
If the coating is on the inside of the lens, you won't be able to clean it off without dismantling the light. If there is a coating on the outside, any cleaner picked up in your local Opticians should be fine as it's the same type of coating that is placed on spectacles.

This begs a further question though.

If the lens has an AR coating on both sides, is this better than one side ?

Put another way, the light comes up to the lens, because of the AR coating, more light passes into the glass. When that light tries to leave the glass it would usually reflect another small bit back. For example of this, shine a laser through a thick piece of glass, you get two reflected dots. One when it enters the glass and one when it leaves.

If there is an AR coating on the outside of the glass, does the inner/glass side of the AR coat also work ? Does an AR coating only work from the air to the glass or does it also work from the glass to the air ??

Anyone know ?

I don't know if you can get DIY AR coatings.

Last edited:

Saint_Dogbert

Enlightened
An A.R. coating works on ANY air to glass surface, because light will be reflected equally both from planes of egress and ingress. Light makers like 4sevens which put it only on the inside are going for a compromise between durability and maximum transmission by replacing the outer a.r. coating with a scratch-resistant sapphire coating.

Here is a recent thread discussing cleaning methods.