Christmas Road Trip, never driven in snowy areas, advice please

Illum

Flashaholic
We will be making a christmas drive to the Grand Canyons from Florida sometime around the 20th of December and visiting national parks along the way. We are going as a family of four, loaded with supplies in a 2008 Hondai Santa Fe, FWD only. I have no experience driving in snowing areas, where there may be ice. My dad, my brother, and me will be taking turns driving.

Only thing I know is antifreeze for windshield wipers and cat litter for traction...but thats it. The weather looks less than nifty but all the reservations were made months before hand and and road/traffic conditions have already been printed, tacked, and highlighted. We will stay mainly on Interstate 10 until we hit New Mexico. Weather reports yesterday mentioned snow in the Houston area and places above, we expect to touch snowy areas approximately 4 days into the trip.

I am limited in my choice of lights, but what I'll be in my bag is a two E2Ls, two L4-MCEs [and a loaded SC3, don't expect to use the MCEs], and two M6s, one for MN15 and one for KL6 as well as a waterproof strobelight. Since I normally use rechargeables at home I have no additional spares on me and too late in the season to order:green:

Do I need to invest in snow tires? the current set has been runniing for a little over 10K miles with essentially no wear.

Any advice from those experienced northerners might be a lifesaver :grin2:

mikeinrancho

Newly Enlightened