I Need a New EDC Light

GaryXD

Newly Enlightened
Let me start by saying I'm not a flashlight expert and haven't even researched the topic in several years. I was shooting a nighttime pistol tournament a while back and noticed my old Surefire E2E wasn't putting out near as much light as most of the other competitors.

I would like to get a new 2xCR123 EDC light with more output. Is LED the way to go now? Any recommendations?

bluecrow76

Enlightened
:welcome:

Is LED the way to go now? Any recommendations?

Definitely!

Let me start by saying I'm not a flashlight expert and haven't even researched the topic in several years. I was shooting a nighttime pistol tournament a while back and noticed my old Surefire E2E wasn't putting out near as much light as most of the other competitors.

I would like to get a new 2xCR123 EDC light with more output.

Are you going to be using this in a professional (law enforcement/security) type environment? Knowing that would definitely affect the recommendations you receive.

The Surefire e2e is rated at 60 lumens. If you want to stick with Surefire you could upgrade to an e2dl which is 200 lumens (this is the recently released version, the previous one was 120 lumens) powered by 2xCR123 cells.

mbw_151

Enlightened
Another excellent option is the new 200 lumen Surefire L2. The choice between the E2DL and the new L2 is a tough one, depends on which switch type you like, clicky on the E2DL or twisty on the L2.

njet212

Enlightened
I would like to get a new 2xCR123 EDC light with more output. Is LED the way to go now? Any recommendations?

General Opinions

lx2_ha_wh_1-1.jpg