SST-90: My first modded light- Update

gt40

Enlightened
I just poofed my sst90 top bin with 4 cta c nimh batteries.

This was my first modified light. It was in a 3d mag with 2" custom copper heatsink, cutdown spring, direct driven . It ran really really bright for about 3 minutes then went dark. I didn't get a chance to measure volts to the led or amps or get any pics. I was so excited I finally got the thing to work I ran out from the garage to the back yard to enjoy my first build.

I saw a couple of other posts where SST-90's were run on 4 c nimh batteries and they were fine. I guess I am still learning. I am wondering if I used too big gauge wire(18 gauge) and the voltage was still two high. 4x 1.3 volts (measured the cta batteries after full charge on the cheap eveready charger) = 5.2 less any resistance from the body and connections.

I will post some pics but I came up with an easy way to make the heat sink using an old copper ribbon coil I had laying around and some aluminum pipe. Basically I rolled the copper ribbon till it was the inside diameter of the tube and then stuck it in. I heated the whole thing with a map torch and put solder on the ends and ground it flush. Finally I drilled a hole the diameter of the stock mag switch on the appropriate spot on the tubing.

I have ordered another sst90 but don't want to kill another one so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Last edited:

Ajay

Enlightened
Re: SST-90: My first modded light- need help!

I will post some pics but I came up with an easy way to make the heat sink using an old copper ribbon coil I had laying around and some aluminum pipe. Basically I rolled the copper ribbon till it was the inside diameter of the tube and then stuck it in. I heated the whole thing with a map torch and put solder on the ends and ground it flush. Finally I drilled a hole the diameter of the stock mag switch on the appropriate spot on the tubing.

Oh my....I gotta see some pics of that build. Very interesting.