CNC machining a prototype

GWO

Newly Enlightened
Hello CPF'ers,

I need a prototype light-head machined from aluminum. It is not a flashlight, but is still kind of small. It'll be a dual light similar to snake-eyes. I'm a software guy by trade and have no idea how to approach someone about doing this job. Even more so, I don't know what it would cost; hundreds, thousands? - I just don't know.

It appears that there are professional machinist involved in this forum, so I would appreciate any insight and advice on how to approach someone about this job. Any help?

By the way, this is a fun forum and I now have more than a practical number of LED flashlights, so I guess that makes me a collector. I'm especially excited about the Micro Illuminator (paypal sent) which I should receive in early July.

Thanks for any help on the machining,
Glenn (GWO)

OddOne

Enlightened
Uh oh, my Snake Eyes inspired someone...

I've got a whole product line worked out based on the concept (and a patent app in the works, BTW, just so you know) - complete with interchangeable battery cases and even alternate power sources - but thus far no takers on small-scale production. (Anybody brave enough to take this kind of thing on?)

Getting something made as a proto ain't cheap - expect to work a trade deal where you're putting the optical/electronic portion in and giving the machinist a couple working units in exchange for the parts for your own working units.

oO

GWO

Newly Enlightened
No worries OddOne, the only similarity between what I have and snake eyes is the use of two lights. I mentioned snake eyes so readers would know that I'm *not* building a cylinder based light. I posted back in April that I was building some daytime running lights for enduro racing. Well, I built a first prototype that has been well received by racing buddies. I've had numerous requests to build more and I have an improved design where the head assembly is machined. So I thought I would explore this further.