Maxpedition alternatives

LightCannon

Enlightened
Hey all,

I was just wondering if you guys knew of any cheaper alternatives to Maxpedition packs. I'd love to shell out for one, but, being a student, I can't justify that cost, especially in this economy. The search function didn't turn up anything, so hopefully I can get some answers.

Currently, I'm looking at the 5.11 PUSH pack and the cheapo Leapers UTG pack.

Many thanks!

Niconical

Enlightened
I tend to wear 5.11, carry Maxpedition, but from what I've seen the 5.11 bags and pouches seem good. I've played with the PUSH pack, don't own it though, and a google of "UTG pack" brought up a very different thing, a "standard" backpack rather than the shoulder/side type bag that is the PUSH.

Which is it you're looking for, backpack for laptop, A4 folder, books etc, or a shoulder/side bag, small items, bottle of water, cellphone, flashlight etc?

LightCannon

Enlightened
I tend to wear 5.11, carry Maxpedition, but from what I've seen the 5.11 bags and pouches seem good. I've played with the PUSH pack, don't own it though, and a google of "UTG pack" brought up a very different thing, a "standard" backpack rather than the shoulder/side type bag that is the PUSH.

Which is it you're looking for, backpack for laptop, A4 folder, books etc, or a shoulder/side bag, small items, bottle of water, cellphone, flashlight etc?
I'm leaning towards something smaller and more ergonomic for day-trips and other short-distance expeditions, but anything goes, really.

Niconical

Enlightened
What's the budget for it?

I see online that the PUSH is around $50, so at least that much I suppose?

Vinniec5

Enlightened