LED with momentary switch

XD40

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie on the forum, so my apologies in advance for any forum faux pas.

I recently bought a Fenix PD30, which was my first LED 'tactical' flashlight for home defense situations.

Only after I received it did I realize that the PD30 does not have a 'momentary' switch like a mag lite. Besides the switch only having a click-on, click-off design, the switch is not terribly easy to push quickly--I have to get my thumb in the right position in the center of the switch.

I really like everything else about the PD30, but the switch is a deal killer for me given its intended purpose. (I'm clearly learning!)

What brands of similar small, very bright, LED flashlights would you recommend that have a large, easily accessible momentary switch? I want to be able to easily depress and release the switch to get a single quick flash of light, just like a mag light switch.

(I did a search for momentary switch, but got alot of results on people looking for just the switch as a part. If there is already a thread on this topic, I'm happy to go review it.)

UPDATE: Per the post below, I think I would prefer something that uses CR123 batteries. I also have a StreamLight TLR-2, so along with the Fenix, I keep a dozen CR123 batteries around.

Last edited:

Hack On Wheels

Enlightened
You are looking for a "momentary on" switch; you will find these often referred to as "forward clicky" as opposed to the "reverse clicky" found on your PD30.

Also, do you have any preferences for battery types? That might help for people to make suggestions for you.

For a "tactical" light, I like my Eagletac P100A2 which uses 2 AA batteries. It has a sibling, the P100C2 which uses 2 CR123 batteries.

There is also the Jetbeam III-M which is a very nice light, though maybe a bit on the big side for you. I believe it takes 2 CR123 batteries, or one 18650 li-ion rechargeable.

There are certainly more, but I'll let others pitch in with further advice.