WF-008 recoill thrower problems

Fram

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,
Complete and utter noob here.

Well I have recieved my first ever LED Flashlight from DX and It doesn't work.

Its an Ultrafire WF-008, single mode Q5 cree recoil thrower. 2.8-9v

I have stripped down the light and on the outerside of the head at the bottom where the battery touches, there is what appears to be a wire soldered to the edge of the circuit board then just left to hang on the outside of the reflector. I have taken pictures but don't know how to post them (sorry) it is a bare wire with no insulation on it just the wire strands. It just does not look right to me.

I have tried it with two rechargable cr123A's, I checked before buying that the torch was capable of supporting them (its rated to 9v) and they are 3.6v (probably a little more when charged?) and no joy.

I might have to bite the bullet tomorrow and buy some primaries but here in the UK I am looking at 20 bucks for a couple, which is two thirds of the price of the torch!!.

If anyone has any ideas of what to try I would be most greatful, I know you guys get hundreds of these "help I am an idiot" threads off us noobs but I did a lot of research before buying and read a lot of stuff on here, just gutted that its my first torch and its Kaput.

Thanks for your time

Fram.

kramer5150

Flashaholic
can you post up a pic? Theres a "how to post pics" sticky somewhere in one of the sub forums.

Exposed wiring does not sound good. I played with Craigs at a CPF meet and did not see any exposed wires anywhere.

Its physically impossible to solder anything onto Alumimum (thats why light pills are either brass or copper). I wonder if the loose wire is supposed to contact the body or reflector somewhere to complete the -ive half of the circuit? Post pics though... I am having a hard time imagining what you are seeing.

Last edited:

csshih

Flashlight Enthusiast
hey kramer.. mine was a WF-007, not an 8.