Help me get my first flashlight!

utalker

Newly Enlightened
Hello there!

Now it's time for me to get a good flashlight instead of the crap laying around the house.
But since I'm completely new to flashlight I turn to you for help and advices.
I have a quite small budget. I' thinking about max 60$.

I've been looking at several different P7s at www.dealextreme.com. They are really cheap, around 35$.
But are the any good? Some body told me that they were badly regulated and that the brightness of the flashlight will decrease fast. Not like good flashlight that have the same brightness the whole time and then it goes out.

Does anyone have graphs for the brightness, how it decreases over time for the P7 flashlights?

You might know some other flashlight that is better. Someone told me the Fenix TK10 was the way to go. But it have CR123 batteries. Doesn't that mean short battery time?

How bright is the TK10 against the P7s at dealextreme?

At the time I'm using this flashlight http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.29095

I really need your help guys.

Last edited:

utalker

Newly Enlightened
What? I turn to a flashlight forum and still, I get no help. Whats worng :S

chef4850

Enlightened
I have never used DX but from everything that I have read you are better off buying from a US dealer. Easier and shorter repair time (if you should need it). The TK10 that you refered to I am assuming it is the fenix. If so it is a great light and very usable. Smaller size and bright. The Fenix TK10 was my "first real light" and still use it to this day. Built like a tank very simple IU. However if the low is a big concern to you the low on the fenix is quite bright and the high is very bright. Most P7 lights are a larger format and not as easy to EDC unless you are using a holster. There are some modded lights using the P7 that are smaller but do not have the run time you might be needing.
Hope this helps a little and welcome to CPF! :wave:

jackthedog

Newly Enlightened