LiteFlux LF3XT or 4sevens Quark 123? (Confused about runtime, too)

uspfan

Newly Enlightened
I'm having trouble deciding between the two. What I'm mostly stuck on is the battery life of the LiteFlux. From what I can tell (and I admit I am new to flashlights and reading all the graphs), I'll only get about 2-2.5 hours of 1600 lumen "50%" light out of the LiteFlux, and 5 hours on 1800 lumen "high" with the Quark? That difference seems so large that I feel like I have to be interpreting it wrong. I'm getting the information from light-reviews.com, as well as reviews posted here.

http://www.light-reviews.com/liteflux_lf3_xt/

http://www.light-reviews.com/4sevens_quark123/

It will be an EDC light, and these two seem to fit the bill best. From what I've read, they're neck and neck for me, it seems like it might just come down to how long I'll get usable light from them. I'm not too concerned about the LiteFlux's complicated UI. I also considered the NiteCore EX10. I could be talked into a AA model, too, if it would have a good runtime.

Can anyone clarify the runtime issue? And I'd appreciate if anyone would strongly recommend one over the other.

Last edited:

ZRXBILL

Enlightened
Not sure where you're getting those lumen ratings of 1600 & 1800 from but they are about 10x more than these lights put out. The Quark is listed there at 181 lumens.
On rechargeable RCR123, 16340 batteries, the L.F. puts out 3440 lux for 30 min. & will run at 50% power for 1:22.
The Quark will run at 4100 lux for 34 min. & 50 % power for 2:19 advantage Quark.
The Quark seems to get longer run time on primaries as well so it looks to me the Quark wins all around and it's cheaper with a better 10 yr. warranty.
If you get the Quark from 4Sevens use the discount code CPF8 for a 8% discount.
If it matters, it appears they will both run forever on their lowest settings of less than 10 lux.:eek:

Gatsby

Enlightened