Engineer flashlight - close and far

dloesche

Newly Enlightened
I am a network engineer and need to see up close as well as far away. I am interested in a flashlight with the following requirements:

1. multiple settings (say 5, 10, 15, 20 lums before going to high)
2. stand on end (candle more)
3. not sure about CR123A or AA batteries but would like rechargeable options that are simple and not need montoring (set and forget).
4. 3 to 5 in length.
5. solid make with ability to take a small fall (say 6 feet to concret).

So far I like the the 4Seven, Fenix, and EagleTac (versions depend on options but none have all the above).

Anyone else in this boat?

Dances with Flashlight

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF!

There may be something out there that meets all your specs, but why compromise on one light when two separate lights might be better. I'm always reminded of Sesame Street, Bert and Ernie, and Near and Far.

Jackscrj

Newly Enlightened
Maybe the 4sevens Quark aa2 gives you moonlight 4lum then 22
moonlight is cool

then get some eneloops or duracell rechargeable nimh with white tops most likely rebranded eneloops

Lost Hawaiian

Newly Enlightened
Hi dloesche :welcome:,

Take a look at Novatac or Ra Lights. They fit all your requirements. As a techie, you'll love the UI.

I am a network engineer and need to see up close as well as far away. I am interested in a flashlight with the following requirements:

3. not sure about CR123A or AA batteries but would like rechargeable options that are simple and not need montoring (set and forget).
4. 3 to 5 in length.

So far I like the the 4Seven, Fenix, and EagleTac (versions depend on options but none have all the above).

1. 4 preset levels set by the user, from very low to max (which is between 120-170 lumens depending on model)
2. Both have the option of a flush button for tail-standing.
3. Both use CR123 or RCR123. NT is introducing a 2xAA version.
4. NT=3.3", Ra=3.85"