Tail switch sensitivity -HELP - Ultrafire WF-501B with Cree 5 mode drop-in

fiataccompli

Newly Enlightened
I'm a serious newbie to the world of high tech flashlights, but I was following some advice from a fellow cyclist that the subject light & drop-in would make a great low-cost tail light for a bicycle.

light: dx/sku.20333
drop-in: dx/sku.26345

I've got all of it & indeed, it should be perfect. The problem I have is the tail switch seems to be too sensitive and basically won't take the light through the proper 5 modes. Instead of a hi-med-low-strobe-SOS cycle (with each "on" of an on/off repetition), I get a millisecond quick strobe & hi alternating with a medium or low (can't tell which & really don't care).

First I took the tail cap off and tested the light using a wire to short the battery to the body. Doing this, the light consistently went through it's correct 5 modes with no variation when I tried various on & off timing. Then, after trying multiple re-installations and re-constructions of the tail switch, I was able to get it to cycle correctly using the tail switch. However, after sitting on a shelf a few hours I tried it again & it had reverted back to the error 2-mode switching when using the tail switch.

I suppose my question is whether there is a good quality clicky switch replacement or if there is something I should do (clean contacts? use contact grease in the switch?) to make the switch consistent. I'm sure I could make something work for a switch for it since ultimately it will be used in a semi-permanent mounting (even if it moves from bike to bike), but it would be cleaner to just be able to fix the switch that came with the light and move on.