Good AA light

Pahrens

Newly Enlightened
Hi, it's been a while since I've been on here.

I've been looking for a nice AA light to replace my Fenix P3D Q5 because of battery availability. We're going to go camping all over Australia and want two lights which use common AA batteries.

I love the Maglite design and see they have a new multimode LED model, however I cannot find it anywhere! Nowhere is selling them at all, all I've found in a couple odd stores is the old incan models.

LED lenser is absolutely everywhere and it's getting very tempting to buy the P5. However I know they have not been a very popular brand on here. Is the P5 any good? How would it compare to the very elusive AA LED Maglite?

Are there any other nice lights I could consider?

Thanks everyone

LightOnAHill

Newly Enlightened
A lot of people will be in to answer, which is what makes CPF very nice. I'm no expert, but I agree with the need for a few good AA lights. I've had a few brands in the past, but I'm currently pleased with the 4sevens Quark models for my small AA lights.

I recommend the Quark AA or AA^2 light for your needs. They are priced well, have very good features such as square threads, good LED emitters, and sapphire coated lenses (just to name a few).

There are currently 2 models, their latest Quark which uses a new R5 led, and their "last year" model which uses the R2 led. I have a Quark AA with the R2 led and love it. Because they just rolled out the new model, there is a sale on the older models, which makes these lights a steal. The sale also includes a "prism" kit which allows the light to be bent 90 degrees, and a headstrap so you can convert it to a headlamp if you please. Also, the clip on the lights is reversible and very sturdy (and removable too).

The AA lights with the new R5 led are available here and the AA lights with the "old" R2 led are available here. I own a few fenix lights, and retired my LD10 after purchasing a Quark AA. They, to me, are better. YOMV