Just got my JetBeam RRT-1

T-3

Newly Enlightened
Just got my JetBeam RRT-1 today! I've been eager to try it out, but wanted to do some research on here first to ease my mind about handling the 18650's that came with it. I've been spending the last 2 hours reading posts on these batteries (UltraFire 18650 3000 mAh 3.7V li-ion) and the charger (WF-139), and frankly, it's scared the heck out of me!!! :faint::faint:

From what I gather, these are not the best choice batteries or charger...:confused: Or perhaps, I'm being too paranoid! I gather that when I charge them, watch for the charge light to turn green... then take them out sooner than later and wait a little bit before using them. Is it that simple?? Also, can I leave them in the light when not in use? Forgive the question(s)... I'm new to these batteries and just want to avoid injury!! :oops:

brianch

Enlightened
Don't leave the charger when the battery is charging. Make sure you don't overcharge or over discharge the battery. If you battery is protected you don't need to worry. Yes you can leave the battery in the light but not for a long period of time. The batteries are fine, I use them and as long as you don't overcharge, overdischarge, or short circuit them - you should be fine. Get a multimeter and test the voltage of the battery to make sure the voltage is right off the charger. Congrats on the RRT-1. It's a great light.

T-3

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for the reply's. It makes me feel a more at ease! I'll definitely pick up a multimeter this weekend. I believe these are protected cells... they say "short circuit and over current protection" on them. I've been using li-ion 123's for my 123 Mini, and I'm sure these are not too much different, but I've got to admit... they're big and intimidating things!!! :crackup: