Looking for slim tube light that uses 18650s

Hawaiian Fire

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking for a new EDC that uses 18650 batteries. I would like a torch that has the profile like the Jet III SL or Lumapower EncoRE or Signature. It seems to me that for this torch profile, heat-sinking is an issue and a focused, throwy beam is not required. I am no expert, but is seems to me that the ideal led would be an XP-G. Are there any slim tube lights out there that use the XP-G led and 18650 battery. I would welcome your input. Thanks.

Hawaiian Fire

Newly Enlightened
NutSAK,

Thanks for the reply. The Quark Regular or Tactical 123^2 with the 18650 tube is a good recommendation. I just am not too thrilled with having to buy a flashlight and then immediately remove part of it and install a different part. I wish that I could buy a light already optimized for a 3.7V 18650 battery. On a side note directed to anyone who knows, does the 18650 tube seem tight in the Quark 123^2 holster?

Any other suggestions, either available now or in a few months? Perhaps I should wait and see if anything is unveiled at the January Shot show.

Hawaiian Fire

Newly Enlightened
jhc37013,

Thank you for the response. I don't necessarily want the smallest 18650 light, but I do want a quality, compact light. I am looking for a light that I can wear while on duty that is roughly the size of my Leatherman knife. I have found that torches with the P60 head style too large for my taste.

I noticed that you have a JET III ST, Quark 123^2 tactical and a Fenix P3D in your collection. How do these lights compare in terms of build quality and performance? I have a P3D (Q5) that I currently carry and am looking for a light that has a bit more battery and lumen capacity.

jhc37013

Flashlight Enthusiast
jhc37013,