LED Even Flood Choices for High ISO Photography?

Frank Petronio

Newly Enlightened
Hi -- I am a total newbie about flashlights, I've never gotten beyond a Maglite and I fear this may be an expensive diversion... but I am a photographer looking for flashlight suggestions.

Criteria:

-- I am looking for lights that I can carry-on for air travel, so I don't want something that looks like a weapon. It has to clear TSA, not end up in some guy's pocket.

-- While I would love a smaller form factor that used a CR123 or two, I am also considering larger options. My instinct tells me I may end up with several lights.

-- I am shooting handheld at ISO 3200 (mostly) and can shoot at reasonable speeds using my 2xAA Maglite LED but the beam pattern has a wicked hot spot. I'd like more even illumination. I am working close -- 3 to 10 feet, so throw doesn't seem as important. But I need brightness! Also I don't need it to spill in every direction -- ideally I'd like a 3' circle at 3-5' distance. (Not sure if I have my terms right.)

-- One fella already suggested a McGizmo Sunspot but I see they are over $400. I would love to support smaller domestic US manufacturers, but I have to watch my own personal economy too. $50 to $120 seems like a good price range to start with... I know I will probably want something more exotic down the road.

Is the Deerelight a good option? Or would it be better to modify something? Is it easy to remove the reflectors on some of these and just have the LED shine through the tube?

Thanks in advance. I've tried searching already but forum searching is really difficult.

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Frank.

We have a forum dedicated to photographic questions (The Dark Room) and there's a thread there that might interest you:

Lighting your flashlight photos... with a flashlight!