Most powerful flood flashlight on AA

Marsel

Newly Enlightened
I'm looking for a very powerful flashlight that works on AA batteries and gives pure flood.

I am a photographer and want to use the flashlight for light painting photographs. Usually, I want to illuminate large rocks in a landscape after sunset. The flashlight preferable should not be very large or heavy, as I already have a lot of heavy camera equipment.

I saw that the Fenix TK40 is a very powerful and not too big a flashlight that runs on AA batteries, but I think the light might be too focused.

I prefer the AA batteries, because I often travel in very remote and underdeveloped countries where specialized batteries are often impossible to get, nor do I have access to electricity.

Thanks for your help!

barnefko

Newly Enlightened
Hi

how abour the ITP A6?
I heard its even morre floody than the tk40 and also runs on AA.

greets B.

selfbuilt

Flashaholic
The Fenix TA40 (8xAA) or Olight A6 Polestar (6xAA) are really your only two options here. You are going to want to use some sort of diffuser with either, to eliminate the hotspot (either a separate attachement that fits, or some sort of diffuser film on the lens).

Not sure if lower output 2xAA will cut it for you, but the standard options are shown in my 2xAA review. Although I plan to update this review soon, for right now note the separate reviews for the 4Sevens's Quark series, LiteFlux LF3XT-2AA, and EagleTac P20A2.

Typically, diffusers are available for select 2AA lights on the Fenix, 4Sevens, EagleTac and Olight models. The Olight diffuser is a slip-on type that will often fit other makes/models.

coolperl

Newly Enlightened
I'm not sure if you count it as a positive effect, or does it even matter in your projects, but the light (floody or not) without diffuser will give you very sharp shadows, since the light emitting source is very small.

...Also, it'd be good to know, from what distance do you want to illuminate your objects.

lingpau