I need informed input on what to choose!

omegaRed

Newly Enlightened
Hey there everybody. I've been a fan of the site for a long time and finally gotten around to registering cause I need everyone's expert help. I'm a plumber by trade and am looking into getting a new torch. What would you guys recommend? My requirements are: it must be LED, it must be rechargeable, must have decent throw to it, must be a decent size (nothing over 10", I have to wear it daily and I get into some pretty tight spots. I also would like to avoid a big head on it. And it must be as bright as possible. We sorta have an unspoken competition at work as to who's light is brightest. In terms of price I'm thinking $100 to $250 price mark. Any suggestions are welcome and if you have multiple suggestions that's great too. Thank you in advance for the help.

Mike 208

Enlightened
You might want to check out the Streamlight Strion LED; rechargeable, 5.9" in length, aluminum, 3 levels of light, runs for 7.5 hours (at lowest setting). I just bought one, and I really like it. Costs around $130.00 with home charger (more if you get both AC & DC chargers).

Locoboy5150

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's nowhere near as expensive as your $100 - $250 budget, but I have been EDCing a Fenix LD20 since this past Christmas in its belt holster and it's great for plumbing work. I bought it for plumbing, home repairs, automotive work, and general emergencies. It works very well for plumbing work because its non-uniform body shape makes it very easy to grip when my hands are soaking wet with ice cold water under a sink or toilet. (Yep, been there and done that!) It's *much* easier to grip in cold, wet conditions than a uniform outer diameter body flashlight like a 2 AA Mini-Maglite.