SST-90 acceptable direct drive voltages?

jamesavery22

Newly Enlightened
I have a 3D mag that I want to put a SST-90 in. Just no clue how to power it. Was going to wait for a driver but was wondering if I could just direct drive it with 3 D-cells? Primary or maybe NiMH's. Is 4.5v too much?

Magic Matt

Enlightened
Note - newbie here so please refer to more experienced members for a double check!

4.5V ... Alkalines? I don't think they'd be able to deliver enough current... maybe you'd just damage the cells. :thinking:

I think if you want to drive the SST-90 you need to be thinking of packing some AA's into that 3-D length, as if we were talking 3S3P NiMH AA configuration it would be more likely... perhaps with a 1ohm 15watt resister.
Here's the datasheet http://www.luminus.com/stuff/conten...3_sst_90_w_product_datasheet_illumination.pdf

Last edited:

jamesavery22

Newly Enlightened
My initial plan was 12 AA with a driver. Just wish there was a driver already out :(

Would 3 x NiMH D-cell 10000mAh be able to deliver enough current?

Magic Matt

Enlightened
NiMH kicks butt compared to Alkaline in that area, so yes, I would expect it would. Just that getting hold of NiMH D cells that aren't AA cells in D-size cases is tricky where I am in the UK, and finding good chargers that charge at 0.5C to 1C for such a big battery is even harder... which is why I'm going to build my own battery holders for AAs.

Magic Matt

Enlightened