Beam angle vs Luxeons?

rickypanecatyl

Enlightened
Hey y'all! I'm pretty new to this and am having troulbe figuring out the units used to show the difference between a flood light, a distance thrower and something in between.

I used to make homemade lights with cordless drill batteries and MR11/16 bulbs. Some of those bulbs were more vague and were advertised as narrow spot, spot, narrow flood, flood while other brands actually gave you the degree of the angle. I think 4 degrees was the narrowest beam I saw.

I'm getting the feeling reeding this forum that the luxeons (sp?) gives you guys that info, but I haven't figured out how it works. Any chance someone could explain it to me? Thanks!! :)

Also similar question on this line, is there any industry standard for how far a beam reaches. For instance if your looking at Inova flashlights in target they say things like "see for 225'" "be seen for 2 miles". Does that mean it can light up a reflective traffic sign from that distance?

thanks

Lighthouse one

Flashlight Enthusiast
On the first page...right side column. THe Welcome Mat. Start there. THere have been lots of these discussions before. THe info is out there!

rickypanecatyl

Enlightened
Thanks ... I combed all thru the wiki and from the FAQ got that lumens measures overall light output and lux measures intensity - that a laser can have low lumens but extremely high lux.

I couldn't find anywhere where it told HOW to use lux measures. I'm assuming higher lux numbers will throw a beam farther. I'm guessing that if you were really good w/ the numbers and you had both the lumens and lux you could get an idea of the beam angle?

Here's a guess - can someone confirm or correct my "lux test".

True or False
2 lights that both put out 20,000 lux would have a beam that reached the same distance? (T/F)

Multiple choice
If one put out 200 lumens and the other put out 400 lumens they would both reach the same distace but:
a.) the 2nd light would have 2x the spill area