Too many of the same class of light?

Locoboy5150

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm in a dilemma, sort of. I have been EDCing a black 2 AA Mini-Maglite off and on for about 20 years now and it has served me *very* well through the years. I've been upgrading it over the past year and it now has a Terralux TLE-5EX LED drop in bulb, Terralux TCS-1 tailcap clicky switch, and a glass lens. It's a great light and I love it.

This past Christmas my brother gave me the one flashlight that I was dying for, a Fenix LD20. I was looking to retire my beloved Mini-Maglite and use the LD20 as my new EDC light.

A strange thing happened however.

For the first few days after Christmas I was EDCing the LD20 in its Fenix belt holster and everything was working just fine. Then the batteries (Duraloops) went dead on me when I was using it outside and I was stuck without a flashlight or at least a working one. When I got back home I saw my good old Mini-Maglite sitting there on my desk in its holster with two fully charged Duraloop batteries inside. I said "what the heck" and I strapped it to my belt, as I had been doing for the previous 20 years until the LD20 arrived.

It felt pretty good! :)

So now, as strange as it may sound, every day now I'm carrying *TWO* of the same type of 2 AA powered flashlight on my belt. I use the LD20 as my primary light. My good old Mini-Maglite is my backup light for the previous situation or just as a spare battery holder to re-power my LD20 if necessary.

I suppose that I could have just used a spare battery holder or belt pouch to hold an extra pair of fully charged AA batteries, but I find that just using the Mini-Maglite for that purpose works just as well and it "feels" right. Does that sound crazy or what? Does anyone else out there carry more than one EDC light or even carry more than one of the same type of EDC light like what I'm doing? How many lights do you guys carry every day?

Seems kind of nuts I guess. :D

Roger Sully

Flashlight Enthusiast