Need help choosing a Drop in for a L2m R5 vs MCE.

nutzz

Newly Enlightened
Im looing for a drop in with some decent throw and spill.
I have a R2 single mode at the moment and its great for throw but i think for edc you need a bit of both.
If you had to decide between a R5 or an MCE in a Solarforce L2M what one would you choose and why?.(Both being roughly the same price).
I know i will get the + in the middle of the MCE drop in but how bad is it?. Ive heard everythng from not at all noticable in real use too being really bad.
I was looking at the SST-50 drop in but ive been told a single cr123 wont be enough to drive it properly so that doesnt seem like an option.
I only have ebay to shop from atm so any links to any drop in you can recomend appreciated.
Im a noob:sick2: and dont really understand why i need a 186500 to run a sst-50 but thats the max of my knowledge as far as flashlights go so any info would be well apprecieted.
I also dont know what amp the driver is driving these bulbs at but they both have a maximum 4.2v rating.
Again run time isnt as important as much as is a perfect beam and also some extra lumens are the top of my list.
Thanks in advance for any info.:thumbsup:

jake25

Enlightened
IMO, the MCE gets too hot too quickly to be useful. In real world applications I wouldn't be able to run most MCE dropins for more than 5 minutes, 10 minutes would be pushing it. With a R5, you could comfortably run it for 15-20 minutes or more before it starts really warming up.

I think having some sort of useable light for a longer period is more useful than having a good amount of light for a very short period of time. I would choose the XPG.

old4570

Flashlight Enthusiast
Depends / What are your needs ...

Runtime ? XP-E R2
Output ? XP-G R5
Throw ? XR-E R2

Mini Blaster ? MC-E SSC P7 , real battery drainers .. 1.8A to 2A current drain with a decent CR123A @ 4.2v
5 to 600mA is not going to last very long .