2 D maglite mods, TLE-6EXB and AA to D adapters

vickers214

Enlightened
Hi all,

Im very new to the world of the flashlight, and have bought several already! what i was wanting to know is would i get any benefit from running my 2D mag on 4 AA alkalines instead?
I have a TLE-6EXB and UCL in it which have improved the throw a great deal, but i have read this upgrade works better in the 3D mag due to more voltage/current, so 4 AA's would surely be 4.8-6V as opposed to the 2.4-3V im currently running? i know run time would go down, this is not a big issue unless it went down under say 2 hours.

Thanks for any help guys, and the 2AA D cells are from DX i have seen are they any good???

wingnut86

Banned
Those 2AA to D converters are parallel, so the voltage stays the same, capacity only goes up....You could use 3x C cells in the 2D Mag, you may have to modify the spring though.

You could also return the TLE-6EXB, for the TLE-6EX, and run a 6AA to 2D converter for 7.2-9v depending on chemistry used (Nimh/Alkaline)

Last edited:

LUPARA

Newly Enlightened
Vickers 214

I just did the 2D Mag basic mod. Using 3 x C cells, Plastic pipe (stops the C cells from rattling in the 2D tube), Cutting the tailcap spring, and sanding off the anodising at the bottom of the tailcap. This was of course using the TLE-6EXB drop-in.

I have a 3D cell Mag to compare it with; and the output of the 2D (with 3xC cells) is the same as the 3D Mag. The color of the light is different due to the difference in drop-ins (they both have the TLE-6EXB).

I cut the Widest end off the tailcap spring. Cut it several times in increments so that I wouldn't cut too much off. But nonetheless; I cut off more than I thought I would to begin with. It works just fine because it has to be a certain circumference to fit inside the bottom of the tailcap.

I 'sanded' the anodising of by scraping it with a common sharpening stone; since I don't have a dremmel. Worked just fine.