Arc AAA LED quality variances

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gizmo_Joe

I just received my order of 4 Arc AAAs from CountyComm.com ($13 each plus free shipping!) and I am extremely impressed. I am a newbie when it comes to flashlights, but as you could guess from my username, I love gizmos and little powerful flashlights qualify.

Anyways on to the subject matter... I bought 4 since I intend to give 3 as gifts, but since the packaging is re-sealable, I though I would compare them all - what a variance! 2 of them were much whiter than the other 2 (which were bluer). Also, the halos varied quite a bit, from very noticeable to quite faded. Lastly, one of them had a very prominent X in the center of the pattern. Luckily one of the white ones was also the least noticeable halo and not the one with the X - guess which one is on my keychain!

Thanks all for the info and deals-

Gizmo Joe

Yem

Newly Enlightened
I received my first AAA yesterday, so I can't really compare. But it does have a very obvious purple/blue hotspot (slightly off centre). I don't mind it though - its not distracting. Not sure exactly what you mean by halo.. like a thin bright ring around the outside? I don't have that.

All the best

BentHeadTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
Gizmo,
Those variances you see are inherent in LEDs, it is not a perfect science yet. Now, if you want nice and white, get the premium model (costs more than $13) You idea works also, but a few cheapy AAAs and take the best one for yourself...give the others as gifts.
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/naughty.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/hahaha.gif

Dave Wright

Enlightened
Individual LEDs vary somewhat in their beam pattern and color. This is inherent in the manufacturing process. Tiny variations in the emitter construction make output and color vary across the emitter surface. Emitter placement errors within the plastic LED body are enormously magnified in the resulting beam.