Airline Pilot seeks new light, new to cpf, your advice please...

flyjetguy

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone and thanks in advance for your help,

Great posts and LOTS of data. I've just started researching. I need a new light for my preflights.

I've been using an Underwater Kinetics 4AA that I've owned for over 18 years. I used it while a divemaster in Guam on MANY dives attached to my mask. Under water (@3 atmospheres regularly), it was as bright as a much larger pistol grip light. It had a switch issue about 10 years ago and UK replaced the whole instrument for me at no charge (even shipped it back free).

I'm willing to spend up to $50 or so. I'm only a regional pilot so I'm dirt poor and probably will be forever. This means my new light has to come from a company as great as UK and hopefully last another 20 years.

The only reason I'm considering a new light is all the data on this forum that suggests that technology and price is approaching something that will be affordable for me but make my preflights easier and more thorough. Please believe me, my trusty old UK4AA has helped me find BAD things on my jet before I've gone flying so my choice for a new light is important.

Brightness is the priority, spot and flood would be best, but no other programs are necessary. The light must be small, less than 5 inches long, less than 1 inch diameter and TOUGH. AA batteries are easiest for me to find and keep because I use them for other devices, but I'm willing to consider other batteries for amazing light. I only use the light for 5-10 minutes at a time so heat build up after that would not be an issue.

Thanks for your time and thanks for the forum. I'm a closet torch techie I guess because I love all the discussion here. Wish I had the money to spend on lots of toys.

Lithium Juice

Newly Enlightened
Welcome to CPF flyjetguy!