Quark Mini - Finding a place

amanichen

Enlightened
(This is going to be a monster post and doesn't contain any pretty pictures, so you can skip to the last paragraph for my conclusion.)

In the spirit of this thread: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/256795

...I've taken a non-technical look at the 1-cell LED lights I have. This is difficult for me because I'm an engineer. I work with numbers. I love comparing numbers with new lights: looking at runtime, brightness, battery amps, lumens per watt, reflector losses, etc. I love beamshots too; those white walls tell quite a bit about beam profiles. Now that I have a small collection of lights, I decided to compare them in actual usage. All the observations below, are based solely on my perception in actual use. The purpose of this was not to do beamshots, use a light meter, get a nice flat runtime graph, or prepare ideal conditions. Just grab each light, turn it on, and look at stuff.

The lights are as follows:

Quark Mini AA - neutral white
Fenix LD01 - original release, un-modded
Fenix L2P - modded with a SSC P4, and used with the 1 AA cell body

Onto the review...

When I ripped open the Quark Package, and stuck in a brand shiny new Duraloop, I immediately noticed that the Quark wasn't super bright. In actual use, it's slightly brighter than the L2P, with the LD01 being noticeably brighter than both. But the Quark has a warm tint. And sacrificing output is worth the supposed improvement in "color rendering"...right?

Indoors, the Quark only enhances reds and yellows, and everything else gets blasted with yellowish light. It's makes my off-white walls look yellowish. It even makes my blue bedsheets look yellowish. It makes me appreciate the cooler LEDs in the L2P and LD01 – I can't locate a stop sign at 1,000 yards with the cool tints, but the overall color balance appears better to me.