Fenix TA30 over PD30 R2

slayergut

Newly Enlightened
Hi, i have been carrying a fenix PD30 R2 with me as an EDC for a few months now,and i'm very happy with it. I was looking at the fenix TA30 and thought that i might buy it for use when i go camping or backpacking.
What i want to know is, since my PD30 R2 is rated at 235 lumens and the TA30 at 225 lumens,what are the advantages the TA30 would give me over the PD30 R2, and the disadvantages?
If there isnt much difference between the performance of the lights,i think i might as well bring my PD30 for the job.

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Fenix TA30 runtime
Low (9 Lumens, 115Hrs)
Med (60 Lumens, 25Hrs)
High (225 Lumens, 3.5Hrs)
Strobe (230 Lumens, 7Hrs)

Fenx PD30+
General Mode: 10 lumens (65hrs)
70 lumens (9hrs)
125 lumens (4hrs)
Turbo Mode: 235 lumens (1.5hrs)

are the differences clearer now? But you got to bear in mind also that the TA30 is longer than the PD30. I own one and its a great light.

It can run using:-

3xCR123/RCR123
2x14500
2x17500

the brightness levels remain the same to my eye and i believe that runtime MAY be better using 2x17500.

In an emergency, you can use normal AAs or even NiMH eneloops.

Using 2xAA duracells, the light was working, output was less but can still change levels with max (of course not 225) but i could still ramp the levels up and down.

Using 2xNiMH eneloops, all light levels remained the same, i.e. LOW but any light is still better than no light.

If you want to take a look at the TA30 to compare, drop me a PM, i can give you the contact of a supplier in singapore.

woodrow

Flashlight Enthusiast
As one who has had both lights I would add... The TA30 is the most indestructible feeling light I have ever held. It (while not the same as a knife or club) is a much better self defense weapon than the PD30R2

Swedpat

Flashlight Enthusiast
My point of view: