Help me with my M4 Project!!!!!!

45guy

Newly Enlightened
First off I want to bore my M4 body to accept 18650 batteries who can do that, also will two 18650's run an led head upgrade? if so what would the run-time be and how many lumens will it put out?

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, 45guy.

I think your thread might get a better response in the Homemade & Modified Lights section, so I'll move it there for you.

45guy

Newly Enlightened
Looking for the best led and rechargable set up, I'm new to this.

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
Some options that I've built that fit your requirements (all will run in regulation with 2x18650):

- Seoul P4 U2-bin LED tower at 1000mA drive current. Probably about 200 lumens out the front.
- Cree XP-G R5 LED tower at 1000mA drive current. Probably about 270 lumens out the front.
- 2S2P Cree MC-E M-bin LED tower at 500-600mA per core. Probably about 450-500 lumens out the front.

For the XP-G, I've also overdriven the LED slightly at both 1050mA and 1200mA with no obvious negative effects (i.e., no issues with excessive heat generation, or tint shift).

You need a buck driver and I've used the SOB for the above towers.

Run time will probably be best with the XP-G at 1000mA. Could be over 5 hours for 2600mAh AW18650s. A close second is the Seoul P4 at 1000mA. Third is the MC-E. Run time in full regulation could be a bit short since the input voltage from the 2x18650s isn't much greater than the min voltage needed to run in full regulation. For 2600mAh AW18650s, I estimate about 15-20 min before falling out of full regulation. After that, you should get maybe about 2-3 more hours at reduced output but still at least 300 lumens or more.

Last edited:

tx101

Flashlight Enthusiast
Another option would be to buy a new head that is compatible with
your M4 body.
As far as I know there are two available, the Lumens Factory P7 M Head
and the TLS TX3 Cree Q5.