homemade Petzl Ultra clone- optics advice

aUtOnOmOuS_Robot

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I'm an avid mountaineer and I'm looking to replace my Petzl Myo XP with something brighter. When you're ascending a 14er with 1000ft drops on either side of you in pitch darkness anything short of searchlights is inadequate. I like what I've seen of the Petzl Ultra but there are a few improvements I'd like to make, and being an amateur robot builder I think I can do it myself.

I really like the myo xp's diffuser lens so I'd like to have this on my lamp. Rather than try and build a sliding lens I think I'll just have two groups of leds, some that throw and some that flood.

I like Petzl's approach of lots of leds underdriven for improved efficiency but I'd like to be able to fully drive them if I so desire. I'm thinking 8 P4's, 4 with wider optics and 4 with spot optics. I would like this to be fairly compact so I'm thinking about designing a pcb to put the leds on rather than using a bunch of stars. Will that be able to dissipate enough heat?

I plan on using two 1A buckpucks pwm'ed by a microcontroller to drive them. I'm using two pots to separately control brightness of the wide angle/spot. I have ~1" diameter weatherproof knob covers for the pots as well as on/off switches that fit into the ends.

I'll be CNC'ing the housing from aluminum. I'll design a li-ion battery pack using 18650's.

I think I have a pretty good handle on every aspect but optics. What should I use?

Thanks,
Scott

ahorton

Enlightened
I also like the idea of having two different sets of LEDs for Spot and Flood.

Personally, I think you can do better than P4s.

If you are serious about throw, then you'll want Cree XR-Es with some sort of aspheric lens.

How much spot you need is up to you. I find that one XR-E, driven to a full amp behind a good lens can easily give you 200m range. Beyond that is not very useful (again just my experience with making headlights).