question about drop ins for a G2 (the pimp my flashlight thread!)

e-ville

Newly Enlightened
remember im not an expert,

can the surefire G2 accept protected 18650's or 17670's?

i was window shopping again and thought this would be an interesting project for my first ever surefire purchase, i like the simplistic nature of the G2. also would i be wrong to assume that if possible it would be cheaper to start with an incan G2?

http://www.batteryjunction.com/sst-led-upgrade-p60.html if not what kind of host would you need for something like this?

anyone who's done any mods to a G2 host please dont hesitate to speak up, im still trying to learn alot here

heat wont be much of an issue for me, i only use my lights in short bursts of a couple seconds, they might stay on for a few minutes at a time at MOST. id also like to add that im not looking at that drop in just for wow factor, i literally need to be able to throw a spot from the street into peoples backyards

Last edited:

TriChrome

Enlightened
Re: question about drop ins for a G2

CR123's, also called 16340 cells (16 mm wide, 34 mm long) are what your G2 takes in stock format.

Since your G2's tube is meant for 16mm diameter batteries you won't be able to fit 18650's in there since they're 18mm wide. The 17670 might fit (a very tight fit), but others can answer that one as I've never tried it myself.

For the SST-50 drop-in assembly you've choosen; I would choose something else if you want decent throw. The SST-50 lights seem to be for flood above everything else (and my Nailbender SST-50 drop-in at ~500 lumens can't reach from the street all the way to a house's back yard unless it's absolutely pitch black and my eyes are adjusted to the dark).

Stress_Test

Flashlight Enthusiast

I use protected AW 17670s in my G2 with a SolarForce R2 drop in.

The batteries fit fine. No heat issues with the drop in, but I haven't run it for long periods in high ambient temps either.

ElectronGuru

Flashaholic