Nubee does ignorant thing

crgintx

Newly Enlightened
Hi folks, I'm new to high performance lighting. I picked up a BlackCat C8 flashlight off of E-bay about a month ago. It has a Cree XRr-E Q-5 emitter After my second set of lithium 3.0v batteries, I decided to get a set of RCR-123a batteries and charger. Dummy me assumed that all 123a are the same and they aren't and I burned up the emitter. :oops:

Is there a replacement emitter available that will stand up to 2 each RCR-123a's that are rated 3.7v@1300mah?

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF. First off I recommend you read the Welcome Mat. It's full of useful information when you're getting started.

As for your specific flashlight problem, I don't know anything about the light you mentioned so I can't help you fix it, but there are plenty of lights around designed to use two 3.7v Li-Ion cells. Keep in mind that these cells actually hold around 4.2v when they are freshly charged, so you'll want to look for a light advertised as operating with up to 9 volts.

Hope this helps.

gcbryan

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi folks, I'm new to high performance lighting. I picked up a BlackCat C8 flashlight off of E-bay about a month ago. It has a Cree XRr-E Q-5 emitter After my second set of lithium 3.0v batteries, I decided to get a set of RCR-123a batteries and charger. Dummy me assumed that all 123a are the same and they aren't and I burned up the emitter. :oops:

Is there a replacement emitter available that will stand up to 2 each RCR-123a's that are rated 3.7v@1300mah?

If you're going to replace the emitter on that light and power it will 2 RCR123's then you need to replace the diver as well or add a resistor. It's not going to be just a matter of finding an emitter.

Or you can just find a new light that is designed for that battery combination.

crgintx

Newly Enlightened