why titanium?

stickman

Newly Enlightened
I know I'm just a noob, but I'm having a hard time understanding the desire for a titanium torch when the same results can be had in stainless for a much lower cost. Is it the cool factor? Both can be polished (I prefer polished stainless here). Both can be blasted, brushed, etc. Yet stainless would clearly cost much less.
I can't be strength. There are many Ti and SS alloys and I'm sure the Ti lights aren't the high grade(strength) alloys. With that said chucking your light from a 2 story building I doubt the electronics would survive in either based on an avg number of drops.
So....help me out here!

Saint_Dogbert

Enlightened
Sounds like you already have a very valid personal preference for stainless, so what does it matter? Titanium is lighter weight than steel, but that is the only practical advantage. If you like steel stick with that. If you're that curious about ti, buy a ti light, and sell if you don't prefer it. Part of the draw is indeed the cool factor, the collectability. Titanium does have more of a gray-blue color than steel, which is kind of neat. In that case, cost is not a factor. If the idea of a ti light doesn't grab you - well everyone has their own likes and dislikes. Again, you'll probably be happy with SS.

I constantly see this on internet forums - people questioning something because of high cost. If it is the price of something that is an issue, then don't buy it. End of problem.

Last edited:

PeaceOfMind

Enlightened
Personally my draw to Ti over Stainless Steel would be considerably lighter weight at close to the same strength. That being said, aluminum is even lighter yet, and while not as strong is generally strong enough, and cheap too... so Aluminum is usually my top choice. It's all about personal preference and your uses though - so if you don't see any advantage to Ti for your use/preferences, then don't buy it

Last edited:

sed6

Enlightened