How to Mod : Pelican Tracker 2140...?

Canon Photo

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys, just came across this interesting forum not long ago. Search around but there's no posting regarding mod of Pelican Tracker 2140 light. Wondering if anyone can guide me? Thank you.

Here's the specification of the flashlight.
Specification.jpg

It's Tested Lumen Value is 8.0. I hope to mod it LED with higher Lumex. Looking at say 30-50lumex, possible? Of course I'm not looking for bright light with 1-2hrs run time. I'm looking to use the light for at least 8hrs or more. I'll be running the light with 2pcs AAA Sanyo Eneloop 800mah rechargable batteries. May I know what LED is suitable? Where can I buy? Can help provide me a link to manufacturer website?

Here's the photo of my flashlight. I think can desolder out the orginal Xenon bulk right?
PelicanTracker2140-Pic01.jpg

PelicanTracker2140-Pic02.jpg

PelicanTracker2140-Pic03.jpg

PelicanTracker2140-Pic04.jpg

This is my first project. I hope U guys can lend me a helping hands to make this LED upgrade successfully. Thank you all very much.

cheers
Canon

richardcpf

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome:

You need 30 lumens, 8 hours runtime. That is 3 watts of power if we assume a led+driver efficiency of 80 lumens per watt. The 2 eneloop AAA will provide 1.9 watts only, enough for 5 hours of runtime.

This mod is rather difficult because of the host and the battery source. It is not as simple as swap the xenon bulb for a LED one, because most of them needs 3.7 volts of input, which will require a driving board, and this leads to soldering and major pill modifications. Not easy but if these terms are familiar to you, I think that it is possible to do the mod.

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic