Best Throw/Flood/Combo AA & AAA Recommendations

Russelljohnson

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys. Fairly new to the forum but have been reading extensively for about a week. Great forum here.

I've read numerous "best xxxx" threads I think some of them are kinda old or are either really specific. So I just wanted to start this thread asking for advice on which flashlights are best to date for each category.

All lights should be under $200, easily obtainable from the internet, and decent build quality. The number of batteries shouldn't matter. I assume the more batteries the "stronger" the light is. Main reason for AA is availability and AAA is availability & a smaller size.

What I'm looking for:

Best AA throw:
Best AA flood:
Best AA combo
(good throw with decent spill?):

Best AAA throw:
Best AAA flood:
Best AAA combo
(good throw with decent spill?):

Since I'm a newb, I'm going off of Gunner12's definition for flood and spill:

Flood is a beam pattern, spill is the light around the hotspot.

My first LED flashlight was a Serengeti I picked up from Sam's Club which I though was pretty neat for $15. Has a Cree XR-E that they rate at 160 Lumens. Didn't get any constructive comments on the forum about it though. Then I recently picked up a Fenix TK40... does that fall under any specific category? I'm looking to pick up a smaller light but would like some feedback first.

Thanks!

Last edited:

jorn

Flashlight Enthusiast