Red LED Flashlight/Nightlight suggestions?

RonM

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd like to hang a red led flashlight in my sailboat for use as a nightlight. It would remain on all night. What light would give me lots of runtime? Also broad light is better than focused, but that's not critical.

I saw red CMG Infinities at the store, but they state the same runtime as the white ones...41hrs.

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ron, are you wanting the light as an anchor light, or a "walking around" light?

I've been houseboating for a few decades, and an Infinity red, even the dim first model would make an excellent anchor light. The Ultra (I think you can get red) would be better, AA's are cheap, and the run time would still be OK.

Can't count the times I've nearly been run down by some damn inebriated fool at 3:00AM.

RAH

Newly Enlightened
RonM, I agree with JohnK that the regular Infinity in red would be good, although if you really want to leave it on all night, I guess 41 hours wouldn't be enough. If you could just turn it on as needed, it would probably last for months.

I am just about positive that the Ultra is currently only available in white, by the way.

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast
a red spider led is super bright and uses 50ma. You could power that off of a pair of batts for a long time.

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
I use an Infinity Bonfire Blaze for red "easy on the eyes" (and "easy on the batteries") light at night, and probably change the batteries every 4-6 weeks. Granted, I don't leave it on all night - if you did that, you might have to change the batteries every 3-4 days (the advertising says 70 hour battery lifetime on the red LED).

Somewhere around here, I have an "old style" CMG Infinity in red, but I don't know where it is at the moment.
I used that until I got the Bonfire Blaze. It's bright and has a relatively wide-angle, relatively ring-free beam.
It supposedly uses a Hewlett-Packard red LED. At least that's what it says on the package.