Hunting rabbits with a Quark 123(2)

hatman

Enlightened
Ok, not really hunting them. But as I waited for the Metro train home tonight, I spotted rabbits running across the tracks.

When I hit them with the beam of my handy Quark 123 (2), I was surprised at how dim the the light was. It just barely illuminated the rabbits.

I'm not good at guesstimating distances, but this was probably 100 feet or so.

When I got home, I put my AW batteries in the charger to make sure they weren't the problem. No luck, they were nearly fully charged.

I still like the light. Mostly I use it to walk the dogs in the park and don't normally need a lot of throw to watch out for what's right around me. But if I try to find an owl that I hear in a tree, or see a dog that's loose, I'm often disappointed at the lack of light.

So 4Sevens, do you have anything else of the same size that's a better thrower?

If not, does anyone else have a recommendation for another torch of roughly the same size? Something with a clip that's pocket-friendly.

carrot

Flashaholic
Consider the Turbo 123? It is only a little bit bigger and has a pocket clip so it is still easy to carry.

It has better throw as a direct result of having a larger reflector. It is difficult to expect much better throw out of the same size because throw is a relation of reflector size and depth to the size of the die. The only better throw you really could get out of the same size is if you pick up one of the older R2 XP-E Quarks.

The other option is to go TIR, and Surefire's E2DL is a top offering in that case. TIR allows a light to throw very well in a smaller package, and the E2DL will not disappoint... It is a bit bigger than the 123^2 but smaller than the Turbo.

hatman

Enlightened
Consider the Turbo 123? It is only a little bit bigger and has a pocket clip so it is still easy to carry.