Runtime on a 3D maglite vs runtime on a 6D

SmurfTacular

Enlightened
Im in the middle of my first Maglite mod (first flashlight mod in general). I'm putting a p7 LED w/ a heatsink in. I know that the p7 draws about 2.8 amps per hour. And I know that 1 D battery is 10 amps. Does that mean the runtime of a 3D Maglite is 10.7 hours and a 6D is 21.4? This might be a stupid question, but I'm still learning about electronics. Any explanation would be great.

JohnF

Enlightened
Take a step back. Battery capacity is often rated in AH (amp hours). Device current consumption is measured in A (amps), and is an instantaneous reading.

So, your flashlight emitter is measured in A. Your estimation for a D alkaline cell makes no sense, but if you think it provides 10 AH you are off by a factor of 10 or so, at least.

If you are just interested in calculating run time, and not an overview of electronics, Google 'flashlight battery runtime' - there are calculators that will ask the current draw (2.8a)the AH rating of the battery, and will give you the approx. runtime.

John F

SmurfTacular

Enlightened
haha, I figured 21 hours was ridiculous. I just thought that 2,800mAh meant that it draws 2,800mA per hour. And that if there where 60 amps then it would take 21 hours to drain the battery.

Last edited:

Juggernaut

Flashlight Enthusiast
Actually speaking the capacity of a Alkaline D cell is between 12 and 14 Ah, however you will not be able to drive a P7 off of them. A battery's capacity is directly related to it's internal resistance and how much you try to pull from it. At 0.25 A you should easily get the above capacity (12-14 Ah) however as you pull more power from it, the less "real" capacity you can actually get. There is no reason you can't pull 2.8 A from a Alkaline D cell, but it's voltage will immediately drop do to the intense draw on it's capacity, this in turn will drastically reduce it's capacity.